Pan Galactic Space Goat   71 comments

 

Capricornus – The Celestial Sea Goat

Capricornus - The Goat -The Constellation

CAPRICORNUS – its correct astronomical title, is a very faint constellation also known as the zodiac sign Capricorn by astrologers. It shares a part of the night sky with fishes, whales, rivers, and water carriers. Despite being depicted as a sea goat it bears closer resemblance to a triangle or if you’re a Halloween fan, witches pointed hat.

Originating with the ancient Sumerians and Babylonians, the constellation Capricornus was known as SUHUR-MASH-HA, THE GOAT FISH.

Pan - Half Goat_Half Fish

Pan The God Of The Countryside

The Greeks, however called it AEGOCEROS (GOAT-HORNED). The name of the well-known Italian island – “CAPRI” means “THE ISLAND OF GOATS” but the star atlas’s of old indicate that ancient Greeks associated the constellation Capricornus with the god of the countryside known as Pan. Pan was said to have had the head, horns and forelegs of a goat and a fish’s tail.

Pan, A Playful And Mischievous God

PAN was a very mischievous and naughty god who spent as much time as he possibly could chasing goddesses and female sea nymphs. These activities were punctuated with periods of sleep and relaxation aiming to aid a speedy recovery from his exertions and to renew his strength for his next session of very naughty behaviour.

Pan Pipes (Syrinx)

Syrinx The Nymph

Not all his seductive godly ways turned out as planned – THE NYMPH “SYRINX” was so un-entranced by his godly charms that she transformed herself into a bunch of reeds to avoid his attentions. Ever hopeful, Pan grabbed hold of them and was surprised when they created an un-expectedly beautiful musical sound as the wind blew gently through them.

Inspired and greatly pleased by this discovery Pan waxed together several of varying lengths so forming today’s PAN PIPES (SYRINX)

Pan seduces the nymphs and goddesses

So it comes as no great surprise that Pan, on being fortunate enough to come across a wild and wicked field party hosted by naughty sea nymphs and goddesses was only too happy to gate crash it and indulge in all kinds of untold fun and mischief.

Typhon The Terrible

Pan’s indulgences were however rudely interrupted by the approach of the huge and ferocious Typhon – a monster sent by Gaia – Mother Earth to attack the gods. After booming a deafening warning to the gods (being something of a loud mouth) Pan’s suggested each god transformed themselves into a different kind of animal and fled to a place of safety in order to escape the terrible Typhon.

                             TyphonZeusPan as the goat fish

To the amusement of the passing god ZEUS THE GOD OF THUNDER, Pan in great alarm, (hence the term panic) dived into the nearest river intending to transform fully into goat-form. Things did not go quite to plan and the lower part of his body changed into that of a fish!

The Mighty Battle of Zeus

Zeus fought a mighty battle with Typhon eventually overcoming him with thunderbolts, after which SICILY’S MOUNT ETNA became the monster’s final resting place. Refusing to rest even in death Typon’s breath was said to be responsible for the fiery, volcanic eruptions produced by Mt Etna.

 Mt Etna eruptingMt Etna erupting2

During this battle Zeus was badly injured and was left unable to run or fight. Pan with the help of Hermes repaired the damage done to him and he was able to continue with the battle and onto victory.

Artistic image of constellation Capriconus (The Goat)

 

By way of thanks Zeus placed an image of Pan – the sea goat Capricornus, in the night sky.

71 responses to “Pan Galactic Space Goat

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As always very educational :)

    • I just hope it loaded ok. Major connection gremlins are preventing any access via laptop. Looks ok on mobile but that doesn’t mean much! Thick autumn fog and dying connection signal…the apocalypse is well underway ;) GrrRrrRRRRRrrrrrrrR!!

  2. Oh, wow, Icewolf… I love the Stars, the Gods, Halloween, Legends AND Pan Pipes! You have everything in this post!
    And, I can see both the witches hat and the triangular goat’s head in the Capricorn constellation.
    He certainly got around, that Pan, didn’t he? I wonder if he – or his friends – inspired the other Pan’s People? ;)
    Great post!!!

    • I thought I could see your hair gel in the constellation… ;)
      I’m going to have a look at the post in a minute…it was horrible to put together lol…was meant to be quick and easy but it was anything but! Hopefully the end will justify the means!
      Pan got around in more ways than one lol but that’s gods for you it would seem!!
      I sincerely hope he didn’t inspire the other Pan’s crew :D

  3. Love this Blog Wolfie, another great Blog, interesting and informative.

  4. When I was a child I loved reading about all the Gods, and this brings back some lovely memories, Loved the graphics too, I can’t recall them like that when I was a kid. LOL
    This time of the year the constellations are quite prominent. especially with the clear nights we had last week.
    Take care Wolfie.

    • Aww…thanks for calling in Arlene…furry Wolfie hugs :) Yes…lol I imagine the graphics are a little “different” today lol :D The odd time we get clear skies here the consetellations are beautiful and Wolfie has permanent neck-ache from eyes to the skies in wonderment! Venus, Mars and Jupiter are awesome sights on clear nights too – huge and dazzling even to the naked eye…so I hope you’re being good lol they’re watching you!! :)

  5. I didn’t know very much about Pan, so I enjoyed learning about him. I love looking at the constellations in the sky and picking out the ones I know. I always think that it took a very vivid imagination to see those images in the stars.

    • I learned a few things about Pan myself….not least that he has to be the gnawtiest god in mythology! I was looking at the constellations and I was sure was a huge Clowie one out there…It had a great big galaxy there too…known as “Biped” :D White stars are very hot and shine the brightest so the “Clowie” was pretty much impossible to miss!

      • A few of the gods did some very gnawti things, so he must have been very gnawti indeed to be the gnawtiest!

      • Hmm…yes! This is very true :D Terribly gnawti these gods aren’t they! Need taking in paw and sorting out :D A good hearty clip round the ear ‘ole with your PanPyreeeee paw should do the trick!!

  6. Wow Wolfie, what a spectacular post.. Makes me want to join them in that goaty heaven :-) I have a beautiful book which was my sons as a child about the myths of the Gods…. Loved your posting and information… I trust you are well .. Loved all the graphics too.. especially the mighty battle with Zeus …
    Take care my wolfie friend xxxx Sue

  7. This one is full of nymph naughtiness Icywolfy
    and how wicked you tell the tale too, I bet you
    enjoyed collecting these mythological graphics
    to help enhance your wickedness and what a
    great posting you have given us :) :) I like it :)
    I didn’t know about the pan pipes, Pan was the
    naughtiest God and how he learned to enjoy a
    pipe or ten is definitely something to follow up
    in another blog :) THE NYMPH “SYRINX” is an
    interesting part of this posting and how well he
    played those notes ;) Hey this is one of those
    gnawti one’s that you have been hiding, hmm
    I wonder what you will be adding next? :) ;) As
    usual, a riveting read with lots of excellently
    added info and graphics :) Well done Icywolfy
    you have triumphed with this fine study of Pan
    the Galactic Space Goat :)

    Have a very nice rest of evening Icywolfy and watch
    out where you leave your pipes or a naughty Pan may
    blow on them :)

    Andro xxx

    • I know how much you like nympheeeee gnawtiness Andro de Gothic One lol…and I do aim to please occasionally ;) This was a spur of the moment post, supposed to be a quick and easy stop-gap till I get chance to deal with the one I originally had in mind…it proved to be a real pain in the nympheeee rear as it happened so it’s nice to feel my efforts weren’t in vain! Pan was very, very gnawti! Reminded me of you actually :D My pipes are very well clad lol so they should be safe from Pan blowing on them thanks :D I did enjoy collecting the pics of Pan I would admit…he is rather well “ripped” in that one with the pipes lol ;) And who knows…maybe that was Wolfie with him in the other one :D

      • Yes well I don’t doubt that for a second, being that you are always so naughty and wicked, I bet you are one of Pans People for sure ;) lmao Hey I hope your other blog is ready for posting next, I always like to read what you are getting up to, I mean what you are posting :) Okay grab something nearby and enjoy yourself, oh and leave that Pan alone he looks a bit jaded :) lol

        Andro xxx

      • How cheeky Sir Gothic Andro Vampire of unspeakable gnawtiness and cheekiness!! ;) I know you always like to read what I’m getting up to ;) lol but sometimes it’s much better if you don’t know! :D No my other blog is not ready for posting…I have to fit it in around twitter and facebook and two other blogs, several email accounts and the all important business of visiting everybody else’s awesome blogs on here!! :) Now you’re busy digesting all that you won’t notice this tiny little extra note will you…”grabbing something very close by and having a really awesomely wicked and gnawti time ;) ” …No! I didn’t say a word Sir Andro :D lol I was just saying how wonderful your fine blog was :) :D ;)

      • I haven’t done one yet :) lol
        You twitter too much I think
        and FB too, you are sooooo
        busy on your pc and moby :(
        Just keep on adding your fine
        mythology postings on WP and
        I will try and forget how wicked
        and naughty you are :) Hmmm
        that will be difficult with your high
        level of wickedness but I can try :)

        Have a fun Thursday Icywolfy :)

        Andro xxx

      • Why haven’t you done one yet??? ;) Jump to it! Pronto!! :D Too busy being wicked and gnawti I suppose :D

      • I have done one now Icywolfy :) lol

        Andro xxx

      • Cutting it a bit fine young Andro! I’ve only just got online so not sure how far I’ll get on the visiting front. Please don’t leave it so late next time ok?!! The Alpha Female of the Europa Pack has spoken and doesn’t like to be disobeyed! lol ;) :D I guess it’s another very wicked and gnawti beyond words one too lol…maybe I’d better come over straight away then!!! :D

      • No it’s a nice one with no nudes or even any Zombies in it :) lol

        Andro xxx

      • That doesn’t mean it won’t be wicked or gnawti :) Your interpretation of these matters is very special and unique! lol ;)

      • Do you mean the last posting or
        just wickedness in general? ;) lmao

        Andro xxx

      • All of them! LoL :) :D There’s always a degree of great wickedness woven in somewhere in some very gnawti shape or form!! lol :D ;)

      • That is with having you as a friend, as you well know I was always innocent before adding your Icywolfy naughtiness :) lol

        Andro xxx

      • What brazen cheek!! lol ;) You have got it all back to front gnawti Goth! :)

      • Noooooooooooooooooooooooo hey you know me, always good, always nice, never naughty or wicked, cheeky or even a hint of the brazen :) lol

        Of course you on the other hand, well need I say more? ;) lmao

        Andro xxx

      • Your nose…lol…is growing longer by the second Pinnochio-Goth!! You are the most wicked and gnawti and very cheeky Vamp on W/P!!! :D

      • I have been called Pinnochio before but not in this context, and before you get all naughty on me I wasn’t being facetious either :) lol

        I think that I must be the best behaved Vampy around our WP, and the nicest too, not ever naughty, or wicked or anything unbecoming for a Gothy Vamp :) lol

        Andro xxx

  8. Yeah? And where’s the wolves of Olympus?

    • Well…err…I have done written something on Olympic Firewolves ;) Bit too long for a blog post though…I’ll see what I do about the wolves of Olympus ok Rumpy? lol ;) Oh Wolf…Malamutes…!! :D

  9. I didn’t know about the fishy part of the goat – and no wolves anywhere?!
    Thanks for sharing that -very interesting and amusing.
    Scratch and pats.

    • Been missing those scratches and pats :D Please ensure you appear more frequently and bestow them on Wolfie on a more regular basis!! Thanks :D
      Twp of you querying the lack of wolves! My delicate wolfie paw! I am working on it! But it’ll cost you lots of scratches and pats to keep me motivated lol ;)

  10. Hallo liebe Wolfie sehr schöner leerreicher Bericht,und tolle Fotos und wieder so schön erklärt.Wünsche dir einen schönen sonnigen Tag,wir haben hier in Köln noch sehr schönes Herbstwetter fast wie Sommer.Lieber Gruss und viel Gesundheit von mir Gislinde

    • Hallo süße Freundin Gislinde :) Herbst Grüße!
      Nebligen Morgen und Blätter überall. Es fühlt sich jetzt wie der Herbst schließlich :)
      Vielen Dank für Ihre freundlichen Kommentar, schön, dass Sie den Beitrag genossen.
      Ich hatte große Probleme mit der Verbindung und Ich muss bearbeiten Sie das Bild -Die Bilder sind umgezogen!
      Wolfie umarmt :)

  11. I just love finding out where different words, sayings and traditions come from. Had no idea about “panic” – that’s fabulous and bound to blow someone’s mind when I use it (probably inappropriately) at some or other gathering!
    Brilliant post – as always!

  12. Your postings are typically very interesting and this one is no exception! The details concerning the life of the gods are fascinating to me. Do you realize mythology is the beginning of astrolog? My interest in astrology actually began with my first book which was on Mytholoy in my teens.
    Love ths post, pictures, and your style.

  13. Wünsche dir ein schönes glückliches weekend lieber Gruss Gislinde.

  14. I hope that your weekend has
    started with a bit of naughtiness
    Icywolfy of the Icy Realm ;)

    Andro xxx

    • Oh it did! It did! I almost bought a “Kindle Fire” before discovering it’s wi-fi only and I don’t have any wi fi access :( They suggested I might like to purchase an £849 Apple Mac instead!!! They were very enthusiastic about for some reason!! They don’t recommend Windows 8 PCs as “overly complicated”…an £849 Mac is of course much faster and simpler to use…(Safari OS) but it would be wouldn’t it! £849??!!!! Oh yes…of course it’s much faster! Apparantly they don’t get viruses so you don’t need anti virus software…they didn’t comment on connection gremlins though!! So all in all I was pretty good…I came home empty pawed :)

  15. Hello! Have a nice new week!
    I invite you to look at my new photos.
    http://marciento.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/autumn-colors/

  16. Hej Wolfie..Vad bra att du förstår allt om Halloeen det är bra för eb varg att veta mycket om allt..Hoppas du har det bra och var försiktig för imorgon är det halloween..iskalla Halloweenkramar //Nicki

    • Hej Nicki :)
      Jag var mycket okunniga tills jag träffade dig!
      Ikväll är mycket skrämmande … Wolfie är livrädd! :D
      Jag gömmer sig i en pumpa ;)
      Njut av en varglikt Halloween
      skakiga kramar… Wolfie :)

  17. The imaginations of the mythologist.that dreamed up theses gods, never ceases to amaze me. Marvelous what a glass or 2 of wine can do to the brain.
    Be well Timid one and keep imaginating :)

  18. You’ve done it again! :) Hope things are going well.

  19. Are u scared…
    Black night
    Full of fright
    Heat and fever on the air tonight
    Electricity halted
    Darkness spread in the vally of death
    Energize dead body comes from grave
    Try to scare people by making lots of niose
    Standing with satanic rule looking for Someone
    to fulfill the thirst of human blood
    Knock-Knock
    open the door
    Are u scared!
    HAPPY HALLOWEEN
    Nicki/The Witch Shalima

    http://i198.photobucket.com/albums/aa49/Nightlady070/Halloween/wss.jpg

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 200 other followers

