“The Word Of Your Head Wolf Is Law! ~ Obey!!”   75 comments

 

The Law Of The Jungle by Rudyard Kipling

Poetry Classics

Rudyard Kipling was born in Bombay on December 30th 1865, son of John Lockwood Kipling, an artist and teacher of architectural sculpture, and his wife Alice. His mother was one of the talented and beautiful Macdonald sisters, four of whom married remarkable men, Sir Edward Burne-Jones, Sir Edward Poynter, Alfred Baldwin, and John Lockwood Kipling himself.

The Law of the Jungle 

Now this is the Law of the Jungle — as old and as true as the sky; And the Wolf that shall keep it may prosper, but the Wolf that shall break it must die.
As the creeper that girdles the tree-trunk the Law runneth forward and back —
For the strength of the Pack is the Wolf, and the strength of the Wolf is the Pack.

The Law of the Jungle_The strength of the Wolf is the Pack 

Wash daily from nose-tip to tail-tip; drink deeply, but never too deep; 

And remember the night is for hunting, and forget not the day is for sleep.
The Jackal may follow the Tiger, but, Cub, when thy whiskers are grown,
Remember the Wolf is a Hunter — go forth and get food of thine own.
Keep peace with the Lords of the Jungle — the Tiger, the Panther, and Bear.
And trouble not Hathi the Silent, and mock not the Boar in his lair.

When Pack meets with Pack in the Jungle, and neither will go from the trail,
Lie down till the leaders have spoken — it may be fair words shall prevail.
When ye fight with a Wolf of the Pack, ye must fight him alone and afar,
Lest others take part in the quarrel, and the Pack be diminished by war.

The Lair of the Wolf is his refuge, and where he has made him his home,
Not even the Head Wolf may enter, not even the Council may come.
The Lair of the Wolf is his refuge, but where he has digged it too plain,
The Council shall send him a message, and so he shall change it again.

If ye kill before midnight, be silent, and wake not the woods with your bay,
Lest ye frighten the deer from the crop, and your brothers go empty away.
Ye may kill for yourselves, and your mates, and your cubs as they need, and ye can;
But kill not for pleasure of killing, and seven times never kill Man!

And the strength of the Pack is the Wolf 
If ye plunder his Kill from a weaker, devour not all in thy pride;
Pack-Right is the right of the meanest; so leave him the head and the hide.
The Kill of the Pack is the meat of the Pack. Ye must eat where it lies;
And no one may carry away of that meat to his lair, or he dies.

The Kill of the Wolf is the meat of the Wolf. He may do what he will;
But, till he has given permission, the Pack may not eat of that Kill.
Cub-Right is the right of the Yearling. From all of his Pack he may claim
Full-gorge when the killer has eaten; and none may refuse him the same.

Cub-Right is the right of the yearling_Lair-Right is the right of the Mother

Lair-Right is the right of the Mother. From all of her year she may claim
One haunch of each kill for her litter, and none may deny her the same.
Cave-Right is the right of the Father — to hunt by himself for his own:
He is freed of all calls to the Pack; he is judged by the Council alone.

Because of his age and his cunning, because of his gripe and his paw,
In all that the Law leaveth open, the word of your Head Wolf is Law.
Now these are the Laws of the Jungle, and many and mighty are they;
But the head and the hoof of the Law and the haunch and the hump is — Obey!

The head and the hoof of the Law - OBEY!!!

75 responses to ““The Word Of Your Head Wolf Is Law! ~ Obey!!”

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Indeed!

  2. Always enjoyed Kipling, Just so stories, Jungle Book. Anyway I though the word of Wolfie was law lol

  3. Easter is a promise about spring..Let the promise of spring fill your heart with joy.. Happy Easter to all of you..Nicki With Family..

  4. What a perfect and beautiful poem for you. I love it.

    • It’s pretty cool isn’t it? Funny, I’ve used the phrase “the strength of the wolf…” etc for many years in another blog life, and though I knew who it was by I had not seen the poem until just recently! I thought it was a “stand alone” quote🙂 I find the rhythum to this poem very soothing and yet rousing at the same time. Have a great Easter! And don’t go eating tonnes of Easter eggs ok!!😉

  5. I would like to wish you and YOUR family A Happy Easter

  6. Wise words, Icewolf!

  7. Liebe Wölfie ich wünsche dir schöne glückliche Ostertage und schicke dir viel Bunde Eier,ich Grüße lieb und wünsche dir einen schönen Tag,Gruß und Freundschaft.Gislinde

    • Liebe Freund Gislinde … danke für Ihre schöne Ostern wünschen🙂 Ich hoffe, Sie hatten eine wunderbare Ostern auch …
      Ate zu viele Ostereier und erlitt… aber!

      Ich habe endlich meine Verbindung an die Arbeit! Es ist wieder schneit heute … wie man erwarten würde in. .. Frühling! Meine Verbindung hält es für ein Barometer – ich weiß schlechtes Wetter ist auf dem Weg, wenn es an die Arbeit verweigert!

      Es gibt nun eine verrückte Anzahl E-Mail-Aktuelles für WordPress in meinem Posteingang
      so dass ich glaube, ich bin in Schwierigkeiten!
      Schnee Wolfie Umarmung

  8. Happy easter Wolfy.
    Hope u find ur chocolad eggs in this snow
    huggy
    MJ

  9. Very profound words of wisdom governing life in woods and the world Wolfie.
    Great quote; happy to see it presented here.
    Happy Easter dear one…Eddie

    • Thanks my lovely friend Eddie🙂 I hope you had a great Easter… I found this poem enlightening as it contains a quote I often used but never saw in its source till now. I think it teaches us a lot about how we as humans would do well to behave. Wolfie hugs🙂

  10. Just So!! I enjoy the poetry of Rudyard Kipling.

  11. Ahhhh this poem brings back faded memories, I loved the Just so stories. I have had my daughters dog staying over Easter while they went to Disney Paris, what a darling does not look like a wolf, gave him a nice bowl of fresh water but instead he drinks from my bedside water before we settle down to sleep

    They came back tonight and whisked him off home I shall miss him

    Susan x

    • I think I must be the only one in blogging world not familiar with the works of Rudyard Kipling…lol😉 Your daughter’s dog sounds great! It always seems so quiet when a dog leaves…maybe you should get one of your own!!

  12. Hej Wolfie..
    Hoppas du haft en underbar och skön påsk tillsammans med din familj..Tack för att du hälsade på mig och kom snart tillbaka..Kram på dig från mig Nicki

    • Hej Nicki
      Äntligen har jag fått min anslutning till arbetet! Det har snöat igen idag … som du förväntar dig i. .. vår! Min anslutning anser att det är en barometer – Jag vet dåligt väder är på väg när det vägrar att fungera!

      Jag hade en stor påsk tack, och jag hoppas att du gjorde också🙂
      Åt för många påskägg och har lidit dock!
      Det finns nu en galen antal e-postuppdateringar för WordPress i min inkorg
      så jag tror att jag är i trubbel!

      Snöig Wolfie kramar🙂

  13. Hi Wolfie, I just love Rudyard Kipling and have one I was given way back in my junior years as a prize giving at school.. Such words of wisdom and I read this over several times… The words are so true… Thank you for this magical share…

    I hope you had an enjoyable Easter Wolfie… the Sun is out today even if the temperature is not so high… it is at least looking more like Spring!
    Dreamy Hugs to you

    • Easter was cool thanks though I scoffed my way through far too many choccie eggs! Hope you had a food one too🙂 Spring sprang for a couple of days but its snowing again today! Better to find a warm den and practice playing head wolf lol I like the idea of my word being law! Lol x

  14. Wünsche dir ein schönes glückliche und sonniges weekend,grüße dich lieb und hoffe das ballt Frühjahr kommt.Gislinde

  15. Heyya🙂

    What a stunning and interesting website. Thanks for following me, I’ve followed you back. Have a good weekend.🙂

    Lee🙂

    • Thank you Lee! The Pack welcomes you🙂 This Wolfie is very bogged down with coursework at the moment having just started back after Easter but I am doing my best to catch up with everyone so I will come howling soon! Have a wonderful week and I hope it is full of sunshine and happiness for you🙂

      • Heyya Wolf🙂

        Sorry for the late reply. I’ve been bogged down too with work, DIY and writing. Don’t hesitate to drop me a message anytime. My email is Lee.Howell08@gmail.com. I hope you’ve had a great April so far and lots of sunshine and happiness to you too🙂 . Best wishes, Lee🙂

      • HooOOOoWWWwwwLLLLoooooooooo Lee! Your April wishes have brought us beautiful sun and and warmth thanks! Spring is finally starting to arrive🙂 Lovely to see you and no apologies necessary not in the least! I know exactly how it is and it’s very cool that you still found time to drop by and leave a comment🙂 I look forward to dropping you a message and I hope you’re also enjoying the first sunny shades of spring too1

      • Hello and thanks. I hope you are having a wonderful weekend my friend.🙂

      • I spent most of it trying unsuccessfully to catch up with all the blogs! lol😉 Hope you had an awesome weekend too, and a great week ahead🙂

      • Thank you. 🙂 I did, I have a week off work now to catch up on jobs at home and get some more writing done.🙂 Enjoy yourself this weekend. The sun is shining.🙂

  16. Dear Wolfie,
    Willow nominated me for the WordPress Family Award, which means I can nominate 10 other bloggers who I feel are part of my WordPress Family too…. So, I picked you as one of my group, though I have to admit I needed more than 10 to do justice to all the good ffolkes here on WP…. 😀 Anywho, I think you’re fab, and now all of WP knows it, too!….

    If you wish to pay the award forward, feel free, but there is no pressure to do so…. just accept my love, and have a good day… but, the rules for the award are on my blog, here: http://gigoid.me/2013/04/07/word-is-wordpress-rocks/ , or at the original creator’s site, here:  http://prayingforoneday.wordpress.com

    Take care, my friend, and Blessed Be….

    gigoid, aka Ned, and glad to be your friend….

    • Aww! Big wolfie hugs for you🙂 And thank you! I think you’re a great guy and I’m very glad to be YOUR friend🙂 A lovely award though I am terrible with rules lol but as soon as I get on top of the coursework that is suddenly afflicting me since I’ve started back I will pursue it most gladly! … And this coming from a wolf who “doesn’t do awards!” lol well there’s always room for exceptions and this is such a lovely sentiment you send with it🙂 Another big Wolfie hug for you!! You can never have too many of them so I’m sure you won’t mind😀

  17. I just loved this, thank you!🙂

  18. Merhaba,
    Benim güzel ve sevgili arkadaşım Buz🙂
    ben çok iyiyim teşekkür ederim
    sen nasılsın ?
    Hayat bazen oyun,hayal,rüya olabiliyor
    şu yalan dünya,da hayattın içinde her şey var
    ben mutlu ve güzel bir gün diliyorum..
    ayrıca güzel yazın içinde teşekkür ederim
    çok kucak dolusu sevgiler size gelsin🙂

    • İyi Sabah benim tatlı arkadaşım Seçil😀
      Ben çok iyi teşekkür ederim am.
      Işten uzak bir hafta – iyi bir haber!
      Yarın ben ülkenin kuzey ailemi ziyarete gitmek
      Pazar günü geri olacaktır.
      Bu hayal için özgürüm zamanı!
      Senin için güzel bir Perşembe ve harika bir hafta sonu geçirmeniz dileğiyle
      Aşk ve sarılarak ….. buz🙂

  19. Kipling, Jack London, and Longfellow, all favourites of mine as they wrote about nature and the creatures who lived their, be they real or mythical, thanks for bringing this one back to life Wolfie, hope you are well.

    • I really am so ignorant about these people! I am learning though! This one stuck in my head and I found bits of it floating through at the strangest of moments! I look forward to investigating further and it would be a welcome change from the nightmare of endless maths assignments😉 I’ve moved up to a higher level now and don’t I know it! lol😉

  20. This was beautifully written, and wonderfully re-told:) It is by Kipling, I read in comments? Will have to look him up! Hope you had a happy easter, with the pack!

    • The pack certainly hunted and ate far too many choccie eggs lol😉 It’s taken a long time to recover from the consequences…oh yes! There are consequences for everything!! I trust you also had a good Easter? I too will have to look Kipling up in more detail – when my connection works well enough to allow such activities that is😀 I am away visiting family for a few days from tomorrow till Sunday so I may miss a blog or two…see you soon! Wolfie hugs🙂

  21. Wünsche dir ein schönes glückliches weekend und einen schönen Tag ich Hofe es geht dir gut und bei euch ist schon der Frühlind hier in Köln ist es noch Kalt.Lieber Gruß und Freundschaft.Gislinde

    • Guten Morgen meine liebe Freundin Gislinde
      Ich werde weg Besuch der Familie von morgen bis Sonntag
      so kann ich nicht online sein, zu viel.
      So wünsche ich Ihnen ein schönes Wochenende und einen schönen Donnerstag!
      wolfie umarmen🙂

  22. This is a fine offering Icywolfy
    and I hope that you will be busy
    adding some more in between
    all your studies🙂😉 xxxx

  23. This is very interesting, & true – strength of the wolf is the pack & vice versa. Very true.

    I’ve never read this before, and sort of laughed when he said ‘& 7 times more never kill a man’! It’s sort of hard to imagine we’re top rung… but no, then I think of lions… No, we’re not top rung.

    Damn, I love your page! So beautiful🙂

    WordsFallFromMyEyes
    • We just like to think we’re top rung! Nothing very top rung about running away screaming when we’re approached by a hungry lion though! lol😉 I really must get my wolfie act together and pad back over to your site🙂 I know it’s a great page and I have been meaning to visit but with so many great blogs to visit it does take a long time to achieve blog visiting in the way that I would like🙂 Thank you for your lovely comments and I hope I will be able to get my wolfie paws marching pronto to your site too before too long🙂

      • Wolfie paws can take as long as they like🙂 You’re always welcome, but I KNOW what it’s like when there are so many great blogs out there. Hence my random visits, too!

        WordsFallFromMyEyes
  24. Hallo liebe Wölfie ich wünsche dir einen schönen Tag und ein schönes sonniges hoffentlich schönes weekend Grüße und Freundschaft.Gislinde

  25. Spring greetings from Poland. Happy weekend!

    • Pozdrowienia Wiosna z Anglii Marko!
      Dziękuję🙂 Piękne słońce tutaj! Drzewa są w końcu zielone
      Bardzo miły i ciepły🙂
      Życzę miły tydzień w słońcu
      Wolfie uściski🙂

  26. i wish u a wodnerful weekend Wolfy AAnd abt the man Kipling..I need wikipedia in this..Huggy

    • Thank you! HooOoooWwwwwLLLLL lovely of you to think of me! I will pop over very shortly though I am useless at following rules lol🙂 I’ve just returned from a few days away so there maybe a short delay whilst I get back to my idea of normal! Wishing you a great week🙂

    • Thank you! I am useless at following rules lol but I will see what I can do! lol😉 At least I will have a look at them and see what I won’t be doing lol😉 It is very cool that you thought to include me forthis award! I have been away for a few days so as soon as I get back to my idea of normal lol I will pad over yoru site and check out the finer details🙂 Have a great week!

  27. Wünsche dir liebe Wölfie eine schöne sonnige glückliche Woche,grüße dich von Herzen und hoffe das es dir gut geht,heute hatten wir in Köln viel Sonnenschein endlich ist der Frühling da.Grüße und Freundschaft…Gislinde

    • Frühlingsgrüße Gislinde!
      Schöne Sonne auch hier! Die Bäume sind grün schließlich
      Sehr schöne und Warmen🙂
      Ich wünsche Ihnen eine schöne Woche in der Sonne
      Wolfie Umarmungen🙂

  28. Hej Wolfie..
    Tack för att du hälsade på mig igen alltid lika trevligt att se dig och vilken tur för mig att du fick 5 minuter för att hälsa på mig I love that..Ha en fin vecka min underbara härliga vargvän…Kram Nicki

Leave a Reply

