Royal Windsor Horse Show 2013 (1)   32 comments

 

Royal Windsor Horse Show 2013

Bahrain Desert Arabians

DSCF0051C

Bahrain Arab Horse Display

Flown into the UK specifically for the Royal Windsor Horse Show, seen here for the very first time, the beautiful Bahrain Desert Arabian stallions. 

(CLICK ON PHOTOS TO ENLARGE)     

DSCF0053ADSCF0056ADSCF0058DSCF0059

These pure bred Arab horses displayed at the Royal Windsor Horse Show 2013 are part of a unique collection preserved on the island of Bahrain for 200 years by the rulers of Bahrain, the Al Khalifa family and today by the Bahrainian king His Majesty Shaikh Hamad Bin Isa al Khalifa.

The Bahrain Arabians are famous for their beautiful and highly unusual coats which all have a unique, glowing sheen. Even the stallions are exceptionally gentle, and are easily handled with nothing more than a rope halter.

 

Spanish Andalusian Horses 

– Pure Bred And Part Bred Ridden

DSCF0099DSCF0110DSCF0112ADSCF0115ADSCF0118 DSCF0106DSCF0109

(CLICK ON PHOTOS TO ENLARGE)

Originating from their ancestral home on the Spanish Iberian Peninsula the Spanish Andalusians are renowned throughout history as great war horses. They were prized by nobility and known as, “The Horse of Kings.” Also referred to as “Spanish horse,” and “Pura Raza Espanola” (PRE) they are closely related to the Portuguese Lusitano horses and they have contributed extensively to the development of other breeds.

They can be summarised as strong, compact and elegant with characteristically long flowing manes and tails. Though they exist in a vast variety of colours they are pre-dominantly grey. Docile, sensitive and intelligent horses they were originally used for classic dressage, carriage driving and bullfighting. Today they are still used for carriage driving and dressage, but also for show jumping.

Copyright: Europa’s Icewolf 2013

32 responses to “Royal Windsor Horse Show 2013 (1)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Woooow these are beautiful! Thanks for sharing xox

  2. Magnificent steeds, and I appreciated that write up🙂

  3. Stunning. Oh how I would love to go horse riding again. Hubby enjoys it as well but, with all the operations he’s had over the last few years, we simply can’t risk it right now. I had ridden as a child and then not at all as an adult. On our honeymoon, we decided to go on a spectacular mountain and beach half day ride. I do NOT recommend this for your honeymoon😀 Took weeks to walk properly again🙂

    • Oh no! That could have been very problematic!!😀 I have a similar problem when riding a bike for long periods lol😉 If I ever find myself on a honeymoon I will ensure not to indulge in either activity!😀

  4. I had you had a great time! The photographs are lovely. It must take ages to put the horse’s mane into that mesh pattern.

    • I hope you had a great time, is what I meant to say!!

      • LoL… I do it all the time and the funny thing is that I rarely notice when someone else does it, but it stands out like a sore thumb to me when I do it! Of course it’s always after you’ve posted the comment and can’t edit it!🙂

    • It was awesome! I didn’t go last year due to unforseen circumstances so I thought I’d make up for it this year and it certainly didn’t disappoint🙂 Thanks for taking a look…I loved that mane plaiting…with manes that full and long it probably took hours to achieve the mesh effect! Actually Clowie…I thought it might suit you too being white and hairy😀 I think you’d look lovely! I’ll have a howl with your bipeds and see what can be arranged shall I?!!🙂

      • I’m quite content being brushed to fluffy perfection, thank you! But the female biped is growing her hair, after wearing it very short for a long time – perhaps she has something like that planned!?

      • Oooh Clowie! I think that might be exactly what the female biped might be planning! And you know what they say about dogs and their owners starting to look alike over the years…lol…you and your female biped would make a beautiful pair, your male biped would be very excited to see you both together! Yes I know…you didn’t have such activities planned for you but…well…I had a howl with your male biped about sprucing up your coat too…and he agreed! He said he’d try his own personal hand at plaiting and weaving your lovely fluffy coat to perfection as a special surprise for the female biped!!!!😀

      • He does well at brushing my undercoat out when I’m moulting, but I don’t think he’d have the patience to arrange my hair like that!

      • Lol…with the right incentive anything is possible…like when they wave a piece of chicken under your nose…😉

  5. There are some amazing photographs in this fine offering Icywolfy
    and I have enjoyed reading all about them too🙂🙂 Have a very nice
    Monday with lashings of everything you like the most of, but try not t
    o be too naughty as per usual🙂

    Yes that does mean being good for a
    change but you can do it, I think?😉🙂 lol

    Andro xxxx

    • HooOOOOOoooWWWWWWLLLLLooooooo Andro🙂 I was pleased with them myself😉 though I give all the credit to the new camera which I am still struggling to get to grips with lol! As to being good…no chance! You know what sort of wolf I am! lol😉 Thanks for calling in, great to see you🙂 x

  6. I love these horses Gracefull
    Last year we where in Morocco..Also during the night we had a special evening with horses
    Wild and original it was a fantastic spectacle. Tx for sharing
    and that woven hair Super.!!
    Enjoy
    MJ

    • Wow! That sound amazing! I would love to have been there with you in Morocco with those horses…awesome!!🙂 That woven hair was very cool wasn’t it? It must have taken many hours of work to do that🙂

  7. These horses are magnificent Wolfie, Looks as if you had a great time clicking away at the horse show. Love that long mane and how they have weaved it… Beautiful….. Horses always hold a specail place nets to Wolfies and Cats..😉

  8. Absolutely stunning!!!

  9. Simply stunning. I was born in The Year of the Horse, so have always felt an affinity for them. They are simply beautiful. (The animals, just to clarify!)

    AirportsMadeSimple
  10. I am just taking another look at this one as that white horse is just so breathtaking,
    actually I think that I would brave another horse ride, especially on that one, mind
    you if it is anything like the last horse that galloped off with my backside bouncing
    in the wrong sequences then maybe I will just give it a miss😦

    Luckily that horse was early morning on a rather isolated beach some years ago,
    but I still enjoyed it, back then I liked to ride the horses and they are such a lovely
    creature don’t you think?🙂 Have fun today Icywolfy and don’t bother trying to be a
    good girlie because it won’t work, being that you are far too naughty and wicked🙂

    Andro xxxx

    • Oh dear! Yes I can imagine lol what a sight.for sore eyes😉 I have wonderful visions of you bouncing helplessly around as your fine steed speeds along without a care in the world lol! You must get mote practice in if you are to excel in your wicked status of mediaval vampire knight of olde lol🙂

      • Don’t worry I left my armour at home that time as there was no damsels to rescue, to be honest it was me that needed the assistance and boy did I have a sore derriere afterwards😦 lmao

        I hope that your Friday is chugging along nicely Icywolfy🙂 And looking forward to the weekend😉

        Andro xxxx

      • I think certain bits of you would have been very grateful if you did have some armour on by sounds of it😉
        I see.you have been extra busy posting on your site🙂 I have a screenful of notifications for yours alone! Lol😉 Been wolfishly busy studying and even more wolfisly busy setting up and learning ability the.wonders.of my new mobile! Got some wicked new updates for the WordPress app too! Back soon….got to go do some work now🙂

      • Hey be careful with those Apps they take up a lot of Megs if left switched on😦 I am pleased that you are doing so well with your studies and that you are now receiving updates for my new postings🙂

        A lot of the posts are from the FTP Flash in the Pan quarterly challenge that I take part in over at Red’s M3 Space, which if you have never been into you should give it a try, there is so many points of interest there so check it out sometime if you like?🙂

        Okay get on with your
        work now Icywolfy, or else?😉

        Andro xxxx

      • Yes…lol I thought you might be pleased I’m now getting updates for your post! Though I wouldn’t mind if they weren’t taking over my whole inbox!! You’re quite right about apps but there are ways of checking how much individual apps use. The ones I have d loaded are tried and tested and use very little meg’s but you do have to be really careful. WordPress app is brilliant and I couldn’t be without it even if it was greedy on data…luckily it’s not apart when trying to access the reader🙂

        Red and I have exchanged visits from time to time. She has a very good site. And you did a very good job of free advertising it lol…next time I think I will start charging for that privilege!!😉 lol😀

        Have an awesome weekend… and do try to be good!! Icewolfie hugs🙂

Leave a Reply

