It’s Rocket Science!   28 comments

 

It’s Rocket Science! From Space Exploration to 3-D Printing

London Science Museum 2014 (South Kensington)

20140504_120846

 

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

(All photos: Copyright: Europa’s Icewolf 2014)

28 responses to “It’s Rocket Science!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oh wow! gorgeous!

  2. Spännande foton från ditt museum wolfie..Och rymden är spännande och mystiskt..
    Önskar jag fick se ditt museum..Tack för besöket hos mig
    och hoppas du får en fin helg nu kram Nicki

    • Hej Nicki🙂
      Det var mycket spännande att se vad som var i museet!
      Jag trodde det skulle vara tråkigt, men hur fel jag kan vara;)
      Jag var på väg till Naturhistoriska museet
      men vetenskapen museet var granne …
      Jag har fortfarande inte besökt Naturhistoriska museet!
      Det regnar och blött här till måndag … när vi går tillbaka till jobbet;)
      Jag hoppas att du njuter av sol och bra väder.
      Kram Wolfie🙂

  3. Loved browsing those photo’s and isn’t it amazing what these printers can do!.. I watched a program the other month about it and was astounded at what was being created.. We are surpassing and growing so fast in our technology Wolfie.. Wonder what the next decade will be bringing us?
    I bet it was a brill exhibition ..🙂 Happy Friday to you Wolfie.. and I am early for a change here🙂 Take care and enjoy your weekend.. Im working tomorrow .. but then a few days off🙂 xxx Hugs Sue

    • It was a fascinating exhibition🙂 The 3-D printing was temporary so I was eager to capture as much as I could. The space exploration is permanent and contained much more than I photoed … Very cool! I was actually heading for the Natural history museum originally but the Science Museum proved to be right next door so the Natural History one is still pending🙂 It’s amazing what was housed in the Science Museum and the old computers made me feel ancient since I remember them well and my friend used to work on some of the ones displayed as a computer engineer! I blame it on the speed technology is advancing at…nothing to do with the human ageing process lol😉 Don’t work too hard it’s too hot and sticky for that! xx

      • :-)… Worked in the garden this morning, Rested and watched Tennis final this afternoon…🙂 I love Museums, and both these sound to be great places to visit🙂

      • The perfect day then😉 Haven’t been to a museum in years and I had thought this one would be rather dry and boring if you know what I mean…they’ve changed a lot since the last one I went too for sure lol From the 1st toilets lol to the old time ovens…and household “machinery” to old time TVs and radios etc right the way through to rocket science lol and the Hadron Collider…awesome! Just goes to show you don’t know till you try it😉

      • Sounds awesome indeed, Love these type of museums Wolfie…😀

  4. One of those photos looked like a Dalek that had been in a bad fight!

  5. Sehr gutes Foto und ein schöner Bericht habe dich wieder gefunden musste aber einige Zeit suchen.Wünsche dir ein schönes sonniges Wochenende.Liebe Grüße von mir und Freundschaft.Gislinde

    • Danke, dass du mein guter Freund Gislinde🙂
      Es ist schön, Sie wieder zu sehen und ich hoffe, dass Sie sich gut fühlen.
      Es hat sich in Großbritannien nass und regen und heute.
      Ich hoffe, es ist hell und in Köln mit Sonnenschein gefüllt aber🙂
      Wolfie Umarmungen🙂

  6. Always loved the thought of “floating” in thin air. Something about it is comforting.
    What a great assembly of photos and info Wolfie! have a great day!!!! love, Eddie

    • It was a very atmospheric exhibition Eddie especially the space exploration section. I only captured a fraction of what was there and I look forward to a return visit with a different camera better equipped to handle the dark/low light conditions than the mobile phone ones. Fantastic displays though🙂 x

  7. succes wolfy with the next fotosession. I dream so often floating in the air. It must have a meaning,
    Enjoy
    Huggy
    MJ

  8. Önskar dig en långh och fin helg Wolfie hoppas du får en stor sol så att du kan njuta av vädret eller om det regnar kanske ett nytt museum vore bra.. Stor kram till dig Wolfie från // Nicki

    • Tack Nicki🙂
      I helgen är rostning varmt och jag kastar alla mina Wolfie hår för att överleva!
      Det är mycket olika formatering och obekväma
      så mycket hår
      så jag utbytte museum för frisörer!
      Det är mycket svalare utan allt det onödiga hår!
      Hoppas ni får en bra helg
      Wolfie kram och puss på näsan!

  9. Icewolf, please let me begin this comment with an apology. I could have sworn I’d commented earlier, I’m that convinced! I wonder if these 3D Printers can print new brains?
    Anyway… moving on. I can’t say I can get my head around these printers. I mean I can see what they can do, and I can also see when they go wrong…(even when they go wrong, the output is quite impressive… maybe these errors are their version of a paper jam.) I can’t see how they’re printers, what they print on to, what they print off of. Do they use ink or plastic? Paper? Can you 3D print a 3D printer, and if so, would the second ‘image’ be slightly wonky as a photocopy of a photocopy is? Can I ask any more questions in a comment? Can I? CAN I???
    Phew. I’m pretending I understand by saying they are like the replicators out of Star Trek… but then (and this is the final question, honest!) can they 3D print a cup of tea?
    Anyway, I’m off to see if my Inner Scientist can come up with the answers to these questions.
    Great photos by the way!

    • HooooOOOOOOOOooooooWWWWWWWLLLLLLLLLLLoooooooooo Tom! No apologies necessary and you were probably thinking of the previous post you thoughtfully stopped bu and commented on🙂 I won’t hold it against you if you don’t get to visit every post I put up🙂 I miss loads of posts on most blogs because I’d be permanently attached to W.P and my laptop playing catch up otherwise! So I don’t expect it from others either…though I love comments and visits and would get terribly wolfishly upset if I wasn’t getting any!! It’s always great to find a comment from you Tom, but no pressure! …. Just make sure you don’t miss a single post ever! Ok?!! lol😉😀

      In the meantime I mentioned 3-D Printing in a long distant blog post…”Extreme Dinner is Served” (shortlink: http://wp.me/p15Sqw-Hz) It only really touches on the subject and probably doesn’t answer your queries but it does touch on the potentialof 3-D printing🙂 And now…I think I can feel a 3-D printed blog post coming on lol Hopefully it should appear somewhere on this blog before too long🙂 But for now, work that Inner Scientist!!

  10. Cool!

  11. japp Wolfie det var en klok engelsk biskop🙂 En man i min smak..
    Och föregå med gott exempel är ju inte det lättaste för då måste man ju mer eller mindre vara felfri själv..
    Bröllopet är den 2 augusti och jag har fortfarande inte hittat något jag gillar😦 Undrar vad dom säger om jag kommer naken istället lol antagligen kommer polisen och tar mig för dåligt uppförande så bäst att låta bli kanske borde jag stanna hemma då är problemet löst ha ha.. ha en fin vecka min kära varg kram Nicki

    • Naken Nicki på ett bröllop ….! Nej! Förmodligen inte en bra idé! lol: D
      Du vill inte att ut-göra bruden nu gör dig!
      Inte oroa dig, du har gott om tid före den 2 augusti …. ca 2 veckor!😉
      Du kommer att bli bra … lycka till!
      Kram Wolfie🙂

  12. Hi! Thank you for visiting my blog. Greetings from sunny Warsaw.

Leave a Reply

