Of Time and Space!   22 comments

 

Time and Space and 3-D Printing! (London Science Museum)

 

  Inside the Science Museum      Space Science proving popular!

 

Technology dates worryingly fast!

 

Our last tour of the London Science Museum took us on a flight of fancy from Space flight to 3-D Printing. This visit explores the environment of the museum and some of the “ancient artefacts” (see above photo) lol (anyone remember these? It wasn’t all that long ago and already they are history!) Smile

We also take a closer look at life of an astronaut in space… note the appetising food on display! Slurp! Slobber! 3-D Printing with its ups and downs in terms of success pops up amongst the photos…well guns just aren’t made the way they used to be… Winking smile 

 

     Astronaut and space suit  Astronauts food supply in space fridge! Yum! Fine US spacecraft for astronaut to relax in...

                                 Oops! When 3-D Printing goes wrong....!  3-D Printing when it goes right....

 

And the trusty mobile phones of yesteryear shouldn’t be forgotten… maybe you recognise one of yours amongst them! And the UK’s Greenwich Time Service is surely worthy of a showing Smile How else would we keep track of time and the super speedy (it would seem!) passing of history?

 

     Anyone still remember these?!!Early mobiles...longer lasting than a smartphone!Modern day sundial ;)

 

“What Are You Waiting for! Time to Take the Tour!” >>>

 

              20140723_13020220140723_13013420140723_124811

 

 

 

 

(All photos Copyright Europa’s Icewolf 2014)

22 responses to “Of Time and Space!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I must visit here in the spring! Looks fascinating!❤

  2. Have a great First advent and a nice weekend…
    Hugs kisses from Nicki

  3. I’m too young to remember any of those things, but my biped laughed at the televisions. She says they reminded her of having to get up and go and press a switch to change the channel – unbelievable!!

  4. We may joining these ‘relics’ of the past if we do not keep pace with the present. Thank you Wolfie for this wonderful walk down memory lane with you as you tour this great museum. hugs, Eddie

  5. Wow, lots of really neat and interesting stuff there Wolfie!! 😀

  6. Thank you Wolfie, Looks to be a fascinating place to visit.. And it took me back to the days of huge TV’s and I remember when those first mobile phones came out.. And so enjoy the series of Only Fools and Horses where Del-Boy is using one.🙂 I still have my collection of old records too, what I do need is a new little record player to play them.. Which too care back in fashion again..🙂 Seems we will not be able to keep up with technology soon..
    Love your new background Picture, Have you tried the separate scroll ( I think you can adjust on your edit background setting ) it may help when your white writing hits the white background, I really had to concentrate to read your last paragraph..

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend Wolfie and you are not working too hard… Keep warm.. its been pretty damp and miserable here in the Midlands lately..
    Hugs to you and thank you for all your visits..🙂
    Love Sue❤

    • That’s very interesting Sue… don’t know what size screen you have but I did this post on a 15.6″ laptop. I specifically laid it out to avoid the light areas for the text and on my screen it worked very successfully. Evidently not so successful for you! Maybe that’s why others have similar problems with my posts. If so that’s a bit of an awkward one! Can’t please all the PC’s all of the time it would seem! Anyway thanks for bringing it to my attention🙂 The scrolling suggestion is a great one…. unfortunately after much searching I can’t find that option for this theme.. It’s a shame you can’t see the post as it should look but all I can think of, and it’s hardly ideal is highlighting the bits you struggle to see. And thanks for working so hard to try to view it! Wolfe hugs🙂 xc

      • I had not thought of Highlighting the area of script I couldnt see Wolfie.. What a good suggestion…🙂 My Laptop is 13 by 8 inches.. so maybe that is why… And it didnt spoil my experience of your post at all.. Just made me work a bit that’s all to read!😀..
        Sending some Big Hugs back..🙂 xxx❤

      • Oooh! That’s about the size I’m after so there’s hope yet! lol🙂 xx

  7. Mal liebe Grüße von mir Gislinde

  8. Hej Wolfie..
    Hösten var inte riktigt lika härlig som den brukar vara den var grå och dimmig istället för solig med färger i rött gult och orange..
    jag skulle trivad bättre om det blev snö som låter under skorna och sol men vad för jag en höst som aldrig tar slut bara mera grå dimma och regn..Tur att Santas släde kan flyga.. ha en fin vecka Wolfie och hoppas du slipper ödlor och isallt regn lol..
    Massor av kramar från Nicki

  9. Danke dir lieb ich wünsche dir auch ein schönes Wochenende und einen schönen dritten Advent liebe Grüße und Freundschaft Gislinde

  10. Wish you a nice and lovely weekend Wolfie..
    Lots of hugs from Nicki

  11. How do, Icewolf!? I’m in the midst of catching up and was taken aback to see one of my mobile phones in that collection up there. Well, it looks like it anyway… brick sized, quite Star Trekkie… analogue! I remember when Caller Identification came in, shortly followed by text messaging (or the other way around…) one of my friends said she couldn’t keep up with technology, she didn’t even have Teletext. Now that’s gone! One of the photos in the slide show reminds me of a set on Space 1999 – I don’t know if you remember that, but I used to love that show. It too looks ancient nowadays.

    And… that food looks like it’s been 3D printed. I still don’t trust that technology myself. 3D printing, that is.

    Anyway, I waffle on for too long. Very interesting post as usual. I shall have to try to check that museum out when I’m next in London. We have a Science and Technology Museum in Manchester… I may visit there again soon. You’ve inspired me!🙂

  12. May the message of Christmas fill your life with joy and peace. Best wishes to you and your family during this holiday season.

Leave a Reply

