Mewling The Blues To The Ancient Mythological Cat Goddesses   53 comments

Mewling the Blues To The Ancient Cat Goddesses

Russian Blue Cats, Mythological Cat Goddesses 

Russian Blue3

The Russian Blue is considered one of the most chic and ancient breeds in the cat world. Well-known as a one-person cat with a distinctive personality which identifies it as a breed apart from other cats, it is very much a timid and reserved creature although it is also gentle and affectionate, with an interesting and entertaining nature. It is also referred to as the Archangel Blue, Maltese Blue, and the Spanish Blue.

Russian Blue14Little is known about the history of the Russian Blue but the title Archangel may have come from the Archangel Isles in northern Russia or also the Russian White Sea Port by this name. It is thought most likely that nineteenth century Russian sailors brought these silvery-grey cats with them with the intention to sell them in UK. Their rich blue and silver-highlighted fur colouring is sometimes likened to that of a seal, and may also account for their timidness; it is claimed that they used to be hunted for their unusual coats.

Russian Blue19

It is said that the Russian Blue is a descendant of the Royal Cat of the Russian Czars and also that it was the favourite pet of Queen Victoria. In Russia, it is considered to be lucky hence couples make sure a cat moves into their new home with them. The breed almost disappeared during World War II, but was later revived by the introduction of Siamese blood. One outstanding characteristic of all Russian Blues is the smiling expression they wear– and who doesn’t like to be greeted with a smile!

Russian Blue12Russian Blues always have startlingly vivid green eyes, and to those who gaze into the eyes of such cats, their intensity of those eyes is mesmerizing; the gaze of the cat was first observed by the Egyptians. They associated the cat with the hawk-headed god Horus, who was the son of Isis. In Ancient Egypt, cats “captured the glow of the setting sun in their eyes and kept it safe until morning.”

Russian Blue9There are a great many cultures who consider cats to be mystical creatures who in reality were in fact fairies or goblins who cunningly disguised themselves as cats. Amongst these cultures they believe that staring intensely into cats eyes will reveal visions of the fairy sphere snooping inquisitively back at the human realm through the cat’s eyes. By contrast the Japanese believe that vampires can masquerade in the form of cats but that they give themselves away by the manifestation of two tails!

Russian Blue18One of the most well-known folklore myths regarding the Russian Blue is the narrative about a cat spirit that appears in time of need to help someone in trouble. Once it has gained the trust of that person, the cat’s spirit one way or another reveals rewards that can be physical and/or spiritual treasures.


Cat Mythology

Freyja’s Cat-Driven Chariot

Thor_google2The Norse goddess Freyja, deity of love, beauty, fertility, war, wealth, divination, and magic, was worshipped by the Vikings, who prayed to her for rain and the granting of good crop yields; to this end jugs of milk for the cats were left out in Scandinavian countries. She rode in the heavens in a chariot pulled by two giant, blue-grey cats, (said to be Norwegian Forest cats). These cats are the children of the magic cat, Bauyn, that were a gift from Thor the god of Thunder.

BAST (Ancient Egyptian Lower Kingdom)

Bast_Egyptian goddess2_pinterestBast-cat goddess3_googleThe Egyptian goddess Bast (also known as Bastet, Ubasti, Pasht or Pakhet) was the benevolent and protective goddess of pet and household cats. But like all Egyptian cat goddesses she was also portrayed as a war-like goddess (“Bast” means “devourer”).

Lioness-Cub-by-Rahul-Matthan2Cheetah_google2Lynx_pinterest2She was often illustrated as a fierce lioness but was also symbolized in cheetah or lynx form. However Bast was the only ancient Egyptian cat goddess to also be depicted as a domestic cat, personifying both the strength and ferocity of a combative lioness, and the frisky, elegant, friendly, and wily nature of a cat.

Sun god-Ra2Known originally as “the protector goddess of Lower Egypt” she was the fierce shield and defender of the pharaoh. Bast was also the guard and protector of the sun-god Ra, and was consequently known as the “Lady of Flame” and the “Eye of Ra.”

Russian Blue 16tsIllustrations of her frequently depict her clasping the” ankh” which was designed to signify “the breath of life” or a papyrus wand which was intended to signify Lower Egypt. She occasionally bears a war-sceptre (signifying strength) and is often accompanied by a litter of kittens

She is also seen as the goddess of fertility and the protector of cats, women and children, to harm one was considered to be a crime against her and so very unlucky. Her priests kept sacred cats in her temple, which were considered to be incarnations of the goddess.

Bast_Shadowness2hellenic_mythology___artemis__goddess_of_the_hunt_by_emanuellakozas-d6p4l9n3Bast was originally the goddess of the sunrise, with the ability and command at her disposal to rouse a solar eclipse. but because the Greeks because linked her with Artemis – the lunar goddess, and the brother of Apollo (hence she became the daughter of Isis and Osiris) transformed her into a lunar goddess; the Moon and the cat’s nocturnal nature certainly sit well together!

 13923408614402cat-moon-by-apofiss2The_Cat_and_the_Moon_by_hiddenmuse2

Some other ancient Egyptian Cat Goddesses.

Pakhet, "She Who Scratches", was a big cat goddess, presumably with big scratchy claws! She defended from evil the living and the dead.

Mafdet, the first of the cat goddesses, was a protective war goddess who spat fire at cobras and who also took a variety of feline forms – the ancient Egyptian lynx, the cheetah or the lion. Known as the “Runner” she was the cat goddess who killed the colossal snake Apep who was the enemy of Ra the sun-god.

Sources:

landofpyramids.org/cat-goddesses

Wikipedia

53 responses to “Mewling The Blues To The Ancient Mythological Cat Goddesses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fascinating! Russian Blues are such gorgeous creatures and I never knew any of this history or mythology surrounding them. I learn from you. Thank you. Beautiful photos too~

    • I had the pleasure of having two to cuddle both at the same time! They were lovely, heart warming cats and incredibly pretty too! It was unfortunate I had to hand them back to their owner lol I learned a lot myself, not least how amazing it is that my cat blog post morphed into a mythology post somewhere along the line lol without any encouragement at all from me! I blame that Wolfie!😉

    • I used to think that Cats are a waste of fur… Then inexplicable me only went out and bought one. A black one at that !!!

      • Inexplicable you just took some time lol to discover the virtues of the furry feline friend😉 Black ones are the best… before he vanished under what I have always considered suspicious circumstances I had a beautiful black cat and he was an awesome hunter too…bit like Timid one actually lol except I don’t launch off the top of high buildings and out of sky top trees to capture my prey in mid flight!!

      • Yes I know you are a awesome hunter Timid One, Hewhorunsfasterthanthewind still bares the scars lol be well my Alpha female 🙂

      • Oops! And there was me thinking they were from Elvis – your Alpha Male!! lol; )

  2. Cats are fascinating creatures and that is a beautiful breed.

  3. Thanks for the very informative background on this most attractive cat.
    Is there only a short hair variety? or is there a longer haired one too?
    The one we had, had longer hair, but looked much like these.
    great photos and story Wolfie, Eddie

    • Yes there is Eddie! It’s called ‘The Nebelung.’ Cattime.com has this to say about them: “The Nebelung is the longhaired variety of the Russian Blue. The name is German and means “creature of the mist,” a reference to the cat’s shimmering silvery-blue coat that seems to float over his body. The breed was developed by Cora Cobb of the Nebelheim Cattery. Cobb was inspired by a kitten named Siegfried, the only longhaired blue kitten in a litter fathered by a longhaired black cat and born to a black domestic shorthair named Elsa. A second litter produced a female longhaired blue kitten whom Cobb named Brunhilde. Siegfried and Brunhilde became the foundation of a new breeding program and produced their first litter in 1986. Russian Blues that carried the gene for long hair were imported from eastern Europe in the late 1980s and contributed to the development of the breed. The International Cat Association gave the cats New Breed status in 1987 and full recognition in 1997. Nebelungs can be outcrossed to Russian Blues. The Nebelung is also recognized by the Cat Fanciers Federation and the Traditional Cat Association.”
      You can read the full article here: http://cattime.com/cat-breeds/nebelung-cats
      Wolfie hugs xx

  4. What a lovely looking cat Icywolfy
    and can I have one please?🙂 Okay
    I will settle for a nice box of chocs
    and some red wine, a Shiraz please
    if you don’t mind popping the cork
    and pouring🙂 lol

    Have a wickedly enjoyable Thursday
    and thank you for adding this awesome
    posting my great friend of the Icy Realm

    Andro xxx

  5. Einen schönen Tag liebe Wölfie und Danke für deinen Besuch bei mir,die Katzen sind auch schöne Geschöpfe ich mag auch Katzen sehr gerne.Wünsche dir einen guten Tag und ein schönes Wochenende liebe Grüße Gislinde

  6. Wolfie, my dear…. I enjoyed this post, but, am commenting because i found the following caption from a Gary Larson cartoon, and could not help thinking this might be something with which you are familiar….
    “Luposlipaphobia: The fear of being pursued by timber wolves around a kitchen table while wearing socks on a newly waxed floor.” — Gary Larson
    Do you find yourself feeling like this? Just wondering; ’tis not an untreatable condition, you know. It usually goes away after a glass of good red wine…
    🙂
    Take care, & remember to wear some shoes over your socks, if you’re going into the kitchen….
    gigoid, the dubious, being a smart-ass
    😎

    • Oh dear! lol😉 It’s taken some time to catch up with comments because I couldn’t stop laughing lol You see it’s all your fault! That was great and yea of course lol I often feel like this😉 I always thought it was an untreatable genetic condition lol so it’s truly heart warming to learn that there is such a deeply desirable sort of cure for it!! This cure would also be ideal for treating the effects of technophobia brought on by the disasters created by trying to master a new laptop and 2 new mobiles and a smart watch – all at the same time!😀

  7. Pingback: Dodge those taxes with dignity and aplomb…. | gigoid

  8. Vackra Katter Wolfie…
    Önskar dig en fin Valentine…
    Kramar XXX Nicki..

  9. Hello! I greet and invite you to watch the new winter photos on my blog.

  10. Dear Wolfie… so love this post..While I love your Wolfie Paws.. I am a cat lover at heart.. and had many Cats in the past who took to own me as they decided to stay in my life..🙂 Its lovely to read a little more about the myths and the Goddesses, and love those eyes of the Russian Blues.. I had no idea they nearly became extinct just after the war… And so pleased they have increased in numbers again…
    Many thanks also dear friend for you encouragement and support.. And I hope you get time this weekend to play with your new Laptop And phone.. I also hope your Women Flu is much better and your paws are not too wet from the constant sneezes and you are keeping warm..

    Love and Hugs dear Wolfie… I so send you lots of Hugs….❤ Love and more hugs.. Sue xox

    • HoooOOOooWW LLLLOOOOOOOOOO Sue! Cats are great Company when they choose to be😉 Much easier to deal with than woman flu and men!! More relaxing than new tech too though I guess the tech is pretty cool🙂 I hope you can keep your spirits up and remember spring is growing ever nearer🙂 New laptop is awesome but it’s taking time to transfer the billions of GB’s of files and pics etc over to the new one so it’s all a bit higgledy piggledy just now! Normal blog visits should resume soon😉 Love and hugs to you too🙂 xx

      • Glad to know your New LT is in great working order .. I transfered lots of my photo’s to an external hard drive.. I thought it would clear more space than it did.. So far its running OK.. and I have it insured should the unthinkable happen.. Probably could have bought and paid for another one with the premiums lol..
        Glad the women flu has gone.. sending back hoooooowwwwwwls.. And Purrrrrrrrrrrrrrrs😀 xxx Hugs too for good measure.. Enjoy your weekend xxx❤

      • My tech is driving me crazy Sue! 2 phones and a new laptop all at once is far too much for a little Wolfie to cope with! lol😉 I insured the laptop too and I know what you mean about the premiums – I had my last one insured for 4 years and never used it other than for a new charger and the yearly health checks lol😉 But it’s the peace of mind it gives…the last one I didn’t insure the screen developed major problems that would have cost too much to pay repairs on and so forced a large payment for a new laptop! External hard drives are great. I use one too, but I’m thinking to buy a new one for this laptop and start afresh before it gets too full. And I’m not sure it’s compatible with Windows 8 either. Already had to buy 2 new external disk drives because the first one didn’t work with it! However, I did get the shop to put the 116 updates backlog on it before I took it home so that was a bonus🙂 I dread to think how much data and time that would have taken if I’d done it myself! Have a great week with a big Wolfie hug thrown in! xx🙂

  11. Quite an imformative read for sure… cats sure do have their own world. A beautiful kind if could have one, instead only have lots of cat visitors here… just too allerigic for anything permanent.

    • Nice to have cat visitors for sure but a shame about your allergies. That’s a very common problem. My friend’s daughter had that problem and sadly the family had no choice but to rehome their cats. They got a little dog later of a breed that had fur that didn’t trigger their little girl’s allergy so a happy ending in its own way🙂

  12. The Russian blues are beautiful.years ago I had a blue point Siamese and she was so pretty and elegant. Hugs, Barbara

    • Blue and chocolate point siamese cats are amongst my favourites. Both are unique and beautiful in their own different ways. The blue points are remarkably pretty and appealing though! Wolfie hugs🙂

  13. Oh I would love to befriend one🙂 I love cats as much as my wolves,
    I had a BluePoint Siamese a long time ago, she was very smart, and eloquent,
    The eyes seem to see more than what is visible to the human eye, mystical is a good thought🙂
    Thank you for the post filled with wonderful information, and I will have to ponder on it ..I think I would like to see one :0
    Thank You Wolfie, another good one
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    • I’m sure one would love to befriend you too! You sound ideal for each other🙂 Blue point siamese cats are lovely. Such pretty markings and each cat unique in its colouring. Cats eyes are indeed mystical. You can lose yourself in them and they can transport you away into different worlds!🙂

  14. Icewolf, cats are as fascinating as they are mystical and mythical. They exude a power all of their very own… and I’m sure they can hypnotise as well… well, the ones I know do me, anyway! I love the aloof night-feel they have. There is no wonder they are linked to legends of old!
    Great post!

  15. Fantastic post. I love it. Love it. Did I mention that I loved it. Ok, overboard on the love, but so well written, fascinating info and gorgeous pix. Thanks, outstandingly good one. ☺🐈xx

  16. Wow what a fangtastic posting Icywolfy,
    I like it a lot and with so many awesome
    pictures too🙂 I bet you thought that I had
    disappeared all together but no, here I am
    like the bad penny showing up, but in my
    case you must be thinking it’s a nice one,
    as in a nice Vampy showing up🙂 lol

    I hope your Valentine weekend was one that
    you enjoyed… How do you mean it hasn’t
    even finished yet, not those Portuguese guys
    again is it or are they from the distant past?

    Well I only said… lol

    I will leave you a nice box of chocolates at
    my Space, don’t worry I have only eaten about
    a third of them, well you were a bit slow to
    open them so naturally I figured that you wanted
    me to sample some🙂 Mmmmm they are yummy

    So, what are you up to these days? I ask because
    normally you are up to no good, being a wickedly
    naughty Icywolfy I mean, and far more naughtier
    than I have ever been that’s for sure🙂 Yes YOU

    Okay time for me to practice my leaping and
    gliding off the wardrobe, it is a skill that Vampy’s
    like to perfect for those romantic nights, you
    know the after midnight treats, that kind of thing
    that I can’t go into here, but you know what I
    mean so no problemo🙂😉 lol

    Have a great Tuesday Icywolfy🙂

    Andro xxx

    • HoooOOOOOooooWWWWLLLLLLoooooo Vampy Andro! Yes, it is truly wonderful to find you here in my Icy world of Europa and how generous and thoughtful of you to leave me chocolates in your space…oh wait!! You said you’d eaten quite a large percentage!! lol That’s not so good Andro🙂 What a cheeky Vampy! I shall have to send the Pack over to guard what’s left I suppose🙂 Valentines Day was cool😉 Best not to go into any x-rated details here I’m sure you’d agree! I have of course been extremely naughty ever since lol and am now paying for it in the form of a new tech’ overload that is turning me into a quivering jelly trying to get the new laptop and the mobiles up and running properly…oh and then there’s the smart watch to figure out too…Oh wolf! I think I need a romantic night inside the wardrobe of the Vampy Realm😉 lol…Ooops! Did I really say that? How wicked of me! Well lol…I was thinking about those unmentionable on here midnight treats you mentioned and I forgot myself for a moment!! Don’t tell anyone ok?!! lol…Have a wicked Wednesday and be careful where you leap and glide to!!!🙂 xxx

  17. Im a cat lover. Always mysterious and playing the big chief in the house
    Mine is a half siamese Dad Unknown haha
    file:///C:/Users/Gebruiker/Pictures/Chica/Chica%20with%20mouse.jpg
    oeps i dont know if this works

    but she is a mice catcher
    huggy and nice weekend Wolfy

  18. Thank you Freund liebe Grüße und Küsse Gislinde

  19. Vilka vackra och fina katter du visar upp Wolfie dom är så fina.. och lejon visar du också lejonet är mitt månadstecken så jag är nog mera kattmänniska än hundmänniska.. ha en härlig vecka wofie.. Puss på dig från Nicki

  20. There seems to be a Blue theam going on here! Our neighbours had a Russian blue when my girls were small he used to spend most of his time with us his name was Fred Boggis not very Russian or very aristocratic but a super intelegent and handsom cat

    Susan x

  21. Danke lieber Freund eine gute Woche für dich Grüße und Freundschaft Gislinde

  22. Hej Wolfie..
    Ja våren är redan här och min influensa är kvar men bättre..
    Nej då mina bilder är inte bättre än dina jag tycker att det som avgör om en bild är bra eller dålig är motivet och betraktarens ögon..
    Önskar dig en fin helg nu wolfie..
    Kram Nicki

    • Hej Nicki
      Massor av sanning och diplomati i den kommentaren!
      Vintern är tillbaka i Storbritannien eftersom Wolfie är på en veckas semester från jobbet!
      Det kommer att bli vår igen nästa vecka när jag går tillbaka!!
      Kram Wolfie🙂

Leave a Reply

