HoooOOOOWWWWwwwLLLLLout To All Dog Owners :)   35 comments

 

HoooOOOOOoWWWwwwwLLLLLLooooOut!!!! πŸ™‚

15726270_636410553228268_5463688731254338305_n

 

 

HoooooOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWLLLLLLLLout for assistance from any willing dog owners!

Icewolfie is studying on a Canine Psychology (K9 behaviour training) course. Part of it includes a “special study” which in my case is on K9 nutrition (can have big impact on behaviour ) I have to do a survey and I need your help if you’re a friend with a dog! … 3 short questions: 1) What food do you feed your dog? 2)Why did you choose this diet? 3) How often do you feed your dog daily? No personal details will be included. I just need to create a comparison chart as part of the study and need lots of people involved! Breed and gender would be great too if you feel inclined 😊 Howling thanks to you all in hopeful anticipation πŸ˜€πŸΆβ€

I am not having much joy so far! Short of standing in the middle of London in the freezing cold hassling strangers who might punch me πŸ˜‰ I will have no choice but to “blag it” if I can’t persuade some of you to help!!! It will also speed up the process in which I can get back to posting and visiting again…as you know this woefully poor on my part at the moment! πŸ™‚

35 responses to “HoooOOOOWWWWwwwLLLLLout To All Dog Owners :)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wolfie…

    Though I currently live with a feline familiar, I’ve had dog companions all my life. In fact, I learned to walk from hanging on to our family dog’s longish hair, while she walked slowly. My last buddy (one doesn’t ‘own’ dogs, cats, or other animals; they’re family…), Noah, a heeler mix, smart as a whip, passed away a couple years ago, at 17+ years.

    To answer the questions, I’ve always fed them a dry kibble, amount depending on their weight, once a day, supplemented by a small portion of whatever I was eating (fair’s fair, after all…) I usually go to a country feed store to get the dry food. They also get regular rawhide chews, as well as bits of jerky as behavioral treats. I chose this diet after feeding dogs pretty much the same for 60 years, always producing healthy, happy dogs…

    There you go. Now you don’t have to stand out in the London wind, freezing your little lupine buns…

    πŸ™‚

    gigoid

    • Almost forgot… Water. Always, free choice water, with more after exercise…

      gigoid

    • What a fantastic way to learn to walk! And you must be doing something very right for the lovely Noah to have had 17+ happy years behind him ☺ Thank you for your contribution to my study endeavours! Awesome! Always good to know I don’t have to freeze my Wolfie paws off shivering on the streets of London πŸ˜‰ Your response is great and well appreciated….Have a big gold paw print ans go to the top of the Pack!! πŸ˜€πŸΆ

  2. My basset grand dogs get Holistic Select Grain Free Adult Health, 1 1/2 cup in the morning and 1 1/2 cups in the evenings. My son in law picked the food because he is a massive dog lover. His bassets have like 2000 followers on social media. Aren’t you glad I am giving you all this info? They also eat daily, ice cubes, (it’s hot here), dog treats, veggies and fruits when we cook. They love all fresh veggies and fruits especially strawberries! They are happy hounds!

    • Awww! Bassets are lovely 😊 Can quite appreciate why your son in law’s Bassets have 2000 followers! Yes I am VERY Glad you are giving me all this info πŸ˜€It’s great! Thank you for your great response!

  3. Sorry I can not help as much in the Dog dept as within the Cat one Wolfie.. but I know a man who might.. Who has lots of rescue dogs.. His name is Paul and he has been a long time WP friend.. You can tell him I sent you lol his site is Here
    https://learningfromdogs.com/

    Wishing you lots of Luck in your studying Wolfie and I wish you a very HAPPY NEW YEAR .. Love Sue xxx ❀

  4. and a very contentious dog owner!

  5. My owner (Eddie) told me to go ahead and confess all cause you’re a good buddy. Since I am not usually picky
    about dog food he feeds me various kind of feed and o’yes table scraps, and treats too! O, he knows some stuff
    I probably should not have but cause I’m so cute, being a Jack Russel with long hair, he gives them to me anyway.
    Let point out here that ‘he’ doesn’t give them to me.
    I have maintained my 24lbs for 12 years now and love to swim in the pool.

    • Oh you sound adorable! Lucky Eddie! Do thank him for me and give him an extra nice treat out of your collection, for letting you participate πŸ˜‰ Very sweet and thoughtful of you to help out a struggling Icewolf πŸ™‚ This is not an easy task I have been set and your assistance is a great help thank you! You deserve lots of special treats so I am sure Eddie spoils you – I know I would! Being a Jack Russell you’re probably cheeky enough to help yourself too lol πŸ™‚ You must be doing very well on your diet maintaining your weight so well and reaching the grand age of 12 years and still swimming in the pool! Wolfie hugs to you my furry friend!

      • Just love giving kisses and snuggles! Eddie told me if I talked to you again I should say ‘hi’ and wish you “the very best New Year ever” and “good luck with your project”. hugs, Joey

      • Awwww Joey!! πŸ™‚ I’m sure you give lovely kisses and snuggles πŸ€—Do be sure to give Eddie lots of them, it is very good for his well being and will make him feel all warm and amicable! Thank him profusely for letting you participate and introduce yourself – I’ve been thinking about you ever since! I also wish you and Eddie the very best new year ever and all good healthy and strength for the new Year 2017 ahead πŸ™‚ Huggly buggly Icewolfie hugs for you Joey! πŸ™‚

  6. I feed Boomer (beagle) Merrick’s canned dog food once a day at noon. Then he gets a cup of grain free kibble—(Blue is the brand) Boomer was always coming down with ear infections—,my vet said he was allergic to his food. Sure enough he was!

    Linda

    • Hey Boomer! Thanks! That’s great πŸ™‚ Allergies are a huge issue with food and that’s something I will be expected to discuss in this special study, But poor Boomer coming down with regular supplies of ear infections. Grain based food are notorious for causing food allergies and for that reason more people are switching to natural/raw/home-made foods for their dogs, apparently with startlingly good results. I’ve been weighing it up myself but feeding a properly balanced diet that way does not always go to plan and create more problems than it solves. So I’m inclined to stick with kibble…and canned food is never, ever refused!!! Slurp, slobber is the name of the game, but it gets a bit pricey on a regular basis! Thanks again for your welcome participation πŸ™‚

      • I should have said BLUE BUFFALO! I LOVE canned dog food and table scraps, although Mom won’t let me have many. I’m a foodie at heart. She says I get FAT….can you believe that! SHISH! Boomer

      • Oh dear! I am quite certain your Mom is telling “porkie pies” lol suggesting that you get fat when what she really means is she wants to eat the best food herself!!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ So you eat Blue Buffalos…. πŸ˜‰ Really Boomer?!! Blue ones?!! Awesome! You must show me where to find them so I may also go hunting! Blue Buffalos…hmm πŸ˜‰ That will look very cool on a food comparison chart!!! πŸ˜€

  7. Hi Wolfie, sorry but he email had gone to trash, oops, however to answer before I go to bed As you know I have border collies, they are both fed twice daily 7 am and 7 pm approx, they are fed mainly on kibble Meat and veg or fish and potato as one of them is allergic to wheat /grain, causing very loose stools and often regurgitation. They have a small amount of gravy when I make casserole with extra carrot, just to taste up the kibble. About once a week they have raw chicken thighs for a change. For treats [tit bits] they have one quarter of a tea biscuit after two walks , the third walk is followed by their main meal. \They have half a tea biscuit each at bedtime, NO foreign titbits or hide or anything made in China, only tea biscuits. Walked three times daily one long and two shorter, as they are both coming up to fifteen and it’s as much to keep their limbs from stiffening. Hope this helps
    Arlene

    • Wonderful to see you Arlene, and thank you, that’s great πŸ™‚ You were the first person I thought of when I was confronted with this study, I wish I could sit down face to face with you and discuss this and every other subject I can think of re dogs with you! You could be my own personal K9 dog training teacher and my expert encyclopeida on all the wide range of subjects I like to think I’m knowledgeable about, till I meet someone like you who really is knowledgeable!! And experienced! There are some interesting common threads starting to appear as more people generously participate in my study efforts. Not least long-lived and happy healthy dogs, many backing up the expert findings that grain.wheat based foods often cause allergies etc in dogs, and, I would have to say, dog owners are often far better judges of what is good for their individual dogs than the pet food manufacturers are!! Thank you Arlene πŸ™‚ You have given me lots of interesting and very helpful facts to include and your two are obviously doing just great on their diet and their tea biscuits πŸ™‚ May they still be taking you out for walks in another 15 years time!! Wolfie hugs and a very happy new year 2017 to you all πŸ™‚

  8. Well Wolfie thank for the flattering reply to my post, but without vanity, I expect I’ve gathered a bit of knowledge after 50 years of dog training an ownership., though I don’t for one minute think it’s all ‘words of wisdom’ but if what I’ve given you helps , good. May I take the chance to wish you a Happy New Year and success in your chosen mission feel free to get in touch anytime .😸

  9. Ich wΓΌnsche dir alles liebe und viel GlΓΌck fΓΌr das neue Jahr und vor allen Gesundheit eine Umarmung Gislinde

  10. Ani gets a mixture of wet, dry and homemade food… as well as anything else she can ‘arrange’ for me to give her as treats. Two meals daily, morning and evening, adjusted in size in proportion to the amount of treats she has snaffled. The wet commercial food is a convenience, the dry is a customised type to help with her dry skin issue ( and it does) and the homemade, because I know what goes into it.

    • That’s great ☺ My online friends are so much more helpful and obliging than the scabby lot round here in the real world who don’t want to know! It’s proving very interesting just how high a percentage of owners feed their dogs customised dry food diets for food allergies,skin issues etc. Grain free ones are coring up more than anything else 😲 Homemade is proving to rank higher than anything else when combined with dry…that surprised me! Thought dry would be most popular based on cost and convenience…and because that’s what I feed lol πŸ˜‰ But either way Ani looks in wonderful condition and is totally loveable…I have no doubt she is an expert at arranging for you to provide her with treats and snaffles as many as she can possibly get from you! πŸ˜€

  11. I greet you and wish you a nice weekend.

  12. I’m a bit late here, but I’ll answer in case it will still help.

    I have kibble. They chose this partly for convenience.

    I have two meals a day – breakfast and an evening meal. When I’m lucky I get a few leftovers with the kibble!

    My food is taken up after about half an hour if I don’t eat it, but I always have water available.

    • Never to late Clowie ☺ Your help is most welcome and is a very handy addition thank you. The chart information is linked fromm excel to the documents so any changes/ additions appear on both πŸ˜ŠπŸ•

Leave a Reply

